The Carousel wins Fringe First!

The Carousel Fringe First Award

We’re delighted to announce that The Carousel has won a Fringe First Award.

Muriel Romanes and Jeanine Byrne collected the award on Friday 15th August at a reception at the Assembly Rooms.

Designed to encourage performers to bring new work to Edinburgh in the spirit of adventure and experiment, the Scotsman Fringe First Awards celebrate the best new writing on the Fringe, as judged by the team of critics from Scotland’s national broadsheet, The Scotsman. The Scotsman Fringe First Awards are presented weekly throughout the Fringe.

Congratulations to Maureen Beattie, Muriel Romanes, John Byrne, Jeanine Byrne, Philip Pinsky, Roland Fraser, Celie Byrne, Heather Wilson, Sam Cunningham and Lesley Anne Rose, all in the Stellar Quines office and our Board. Thanks also to our audience for supporting us and to the Traverse Theatre and Scotsman Arts.

You still have till the 24th August to catch The Carousel at the Traverse, before it heads off on tour. Read what other critics say about the show and see some photos of Muriel and Janine collecting the award.